Chandler’s Wobble

named for astronomer, businessman, American, Seth Carlo Chandler Jr., discovered in the late 1800s, it is a small change or motion in the Earth’s axis of rotation, a shift of approximately 15 meters, in periods of 433 days (or 14 months), a free nutation

2 responses to “Chandler’s Wobble

  • furious buddha

    Good Day
    I’ve had a lot of weird commenters lately so it was such a relief to find out that you aren’t a spambot or overflowing with insane hatred, but merely a charming Canadian. Hooray for charming Canadians. You have a lovely blog. I was aware that the Earth wobbles, but I did not know the wobble had a name. That is so cool.
    If you would like me to add you to my blogroll, I would be happy to, but I warn you that I get some really odd guests in my Teahouse.
    Thanks again
    Winston

  • iapetus

    Thanks for the compliment on the blog & the post. (However, I’m not Canadian.) You’re right, there are all sorts of peoples (& spam comments) out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

